"Elements Part1 - Elements Part2" Reissue on December 5th

Oct 17 2014
News Archive >>

With the albums “Elements Pt. 1” and “Elements Pt. 2Stratovarius succeeded with what only very few bands manage to achieve: they opened doors, tore down (genre) walls and created two milestones in progressive symphonic metal.
Both albums showed the Finnish band on top of their game and perfected the foundation of what was to become the instantly recognizable Stratovarius trademark sound.
11 years after their original release (and Top 5 chart positions in their home country Finland), both albums will be combined for a high quality reissue including exclusive bonus material. “Elements Pt. 1 & 2” will be released on December 5th 2014 on earMUSIC.

Jens Johansson explains: “The idea for this 2014 reissue revolves much around the surround (5.1) mixes of the album. I had heard a few tracks from these at some point and was completely blown away. But they were never released. So finally, these quite wonderful audiophile 5.1 surround mixes are available.”

Elements Pt. 1 & 2” is going to be released as 3CD+DVD digi-pak, limited to 10.000 copies worldwide, as well as limited to 3.000 copies worldwide box set.
The releases feature both original albums, a bonus CD including unreleased and rare songs like B-Sides or live versions from the 2003 Elements tour and a DVD. For the first time in the band’s history, the DVD features the 5.1 mix of both albums, rare bonus songs as well as a photo gallery.

The box set includes the high quality 3CD+DVD digi-pak, a cassette including previously unreleased demo songs which are only available on this format and will not be made available anywhere else, an “Elements” tour T-shirt as well as a reproduction of the original tour program. As a special bonus, the band has conquered their private archives for rare and never before seen picture material – so get ready for some fun shoots from behind the scenes of the album recording sessions as well as juicy material from the tour.
With its previously unreleased and rare songs, the 5.1 mix on DVD, the brand new artwork and freshly written liner notes by Jens Johansson “Elements Pt. 1 & 2” is definitely a must-have.
Portraying the elements wind, fire, water and earth, the albums themselves feature a prominent, effortlessly flowing progressive sound. The music made clear that the band – Timo Kotipelto (vocals), Timo Tolkki (guitar), Jens Johansson (keyboard), Jörg Michael (drums), Jari Kainulainen (bass) – were not just another metal band, on the contrary, they were (and still are) a band that doesn’t shy away to take one step further and experiment with different genres. Both Pt. 1 and Pt. 2 have proven to be one of the band’s best works up until that point of their career. Especially Jens Johansson’s exceptional keyboard performance has to be pointed out: mind-blowing keyboard solos, giving the album a distinctive sound frame.

 “’Elements’ still is one of the greatest sounding power metal records ever. And I imagine, one of the heaviest melodic rock albums that will ever be made with an orchestra”
, reflects Jens Johansson about the sound of the album.

European Limited Expanded Edition (3CD+DVD)
- CD1 "Elements Pt.1"
- CD2 "Elements Pt. 2"
- CD3 incl. unreleased and rare songs
- DVD incl. 5.1 mix of “Elements Pt. 1” and “Elements Pt. 2” as well as rare songs

European Anniversary Edition Box set
- 3CD+DVD digi-pak
- cassette (30 min) incl. rough demos – previously unreleased and only available on this release
- T-shirt with original artwork from the tour
- reproduction of original tour program

Elements Pt. 1
1. Eagleheart
2. Soul Of A Vagabond
3. Find Your Own Voice
4. Fantasia
5. Learning To Fly
6. Papillon
7. Stratofortress
8. Elements
9. A Drop In The Ocean

Elements Pt. 2
1. Alpha & Omega
2. I Walk To My Own Song
3. I'm Still Alive
4. Season Of Faith's Perfection
5. Awaken The Giant
6. Know The Difference
7. Luminous
8. Dreamweaver
9. Liberty

Bonus CD
Previously unreleased and rare material (almost 70 minutes)
1. Run Away
2. Into Deep Blue
3. Ride Like The Wind
4. Papillon (French Version)
5. Soul Of A Vagabond (Live)
6. Destiny/Fantasia (Live)
7. Forever (Live)
8. Paradise (Live)
9. Black Diamond (Live)
10. Hunting High And Low (Live)

- Elements Pt. 1 & 2 – 5.1 audio - Released as 5.1 sound for the first time!
- Bonus Audio
- Photo Gallery

tracklist as above

Rough demos – previously unreleased and only available on this release

Side A
1. I'm Still Alive (Drum Machine Cassette Demo)
2. Awaken The Giant (Drum Machine Cassette Demo)
3. Stratofortress (Drum Machine Cassette Demo)

Side B
1. Heart Of An Eagle (Eagleheart) (Drum Machine Cassette Demo)
2. Season Of Faith's Perfection (Drum Machine Cassette Demo)
3. A Drop In The Ocean (Drum Machine Cassette Demo)


Reproduction of original tour program

© 2011-2018 All rights reserved. Design & Programming by Cedric Cabon
All site content is the property of Stratovarius unless otherwise noted, and is not to be used or reproduced without advance written permission.