Aug 15 2016
News Archive >>

It has been more than 30 years since Stratovarius got together and became one of the most influential, successful and enduring power metal bands in the world – and 27 years since the release of their debut album “Fright Night” in 1989.  It is about time that their 16 studio album strong catalog and their rare live releases are going to be reissued in high quality packaging with a refreshed artwork by the band’s trusted cover artwork designer Gyula Havancsák, extensive liner notes and, even more importantly, rare and newly recorded bonus material. On top, all albums will be remastered.

The reissue campaign is set to begin with one of the band’s most successful and most loved albums “Destiny” (originally released in 1998) and the cult live album “Visions Of Europe” (originally released in 1998). Both albums will be released as 2CD Digipak and digital in October 2016 on earMUSIC.

“Destiny”, with its opulent, bombastic melodies and song structures, is regarded as one of the most important albums in the genre of melodic metal and secured the pole position in their home country Finland. Also thanks to the hit “S.O.S.” which made it to #2 in the Finnish single charts. The 2016 edition of the album includes the rare live bootleg “Visions Of Destiny” which has been recorded in October 1999 during their triumphant, album accompanying tour. With over 60 minutes, the CD perfectly captures the band’s energetic live spirit.

“Visions Of Europe” follows up on the mind-blowing live whirlwind that is Stratovarius. Recorded in 1997 during the band’s tour to their hit album “Visions” – Rock Hard named it one of the 500 greatest rock and metal albums ever – one killer song follows another on the over 1 ½ hour long live set: “Kiss Of Judas”, “Speed Of Light”, “Father Time” as well as the Stratovarius classic not to miss “Black Diamond”.

All Stratovarius albums will be re-released throughout 2016 and 2017, including extensive booklets and a lot of bonus material.

Tracklist “Destiny”


CD1 - Destiny

1. Destiny
2. S.O.S.
3. No Turning Back

4. 4000 Rainy Nights
5. Rebel

6. Years Go By

7. Playing With Fire

8. Venus In The Morning

9. Anthem Of The World


Bonus Tracks
10. Cold Winter Nights (European Edition Bonus Track)
11. Dream With Me (Japanese Edition Bonus Track)

12. Blackout (US Edition bonus track)


CD2 – Visions Of Destiny

1. Destiny
2. Paradise

3. Speed Of Light
4. S.O.S.
5. Anthem Of The World

6. Forever

7. Black Diamond
8. The Kiss Of Judas

9. Distant Skies

10. Forever


Tracklist “Visions Of Europe




1. Intro
2. Forever Free

3. Kiss Of Judas

4. Father Time

5. Distant Skies

6. Season Of Change

7. Speed Of Light

8. Twilight Symphony

9. Holy Solos


1. Visions

2. Will The Sun Rise?

3. Forever

4. Black Diamond

5. Against The Wind

6. Paradise

7. Legions


© 2011-2018 All rights reserved. Design & Programming by Cedric Cabon
All site content is the property of Stratovarius unless otherwise noted, and is not to be used or reproduced without advance written permission.